In this guide, we’ll show you how to make a Facebook post shareable in 2023. Facebook is the world’s largest social network with more than three billion active users. Facebook is used by people from all walks of life, and is also turning into one of the world’s largest marketplaces.
Needless to say, it is one of the fastest growing information platforms, and many companies simply can’t afford to ignore Facebook for their marketing purposes.
You have a group of friends on Facebook with whom you can share your posts. By default, you can decide which posts you would like to share and change your privacy settings automatically.
Facebook also allows you to share posts by others, provided they have toggled the setting on. If you want to make a Facebook post shareable, you need to understand a few things.
In the following paragraphs, we will talk about the different ways to make a Facebook post shareable, and how you can adjust the settings.
How To Make A Facebook Post Shareable
What Are the Different Post Privacy Options?
Before we talk about how to make a post shareable, let’s focus on the different post privacy options. You need to be familiar with the privacy options offered by Facebook so that you know what each of them means. Here they are:
Public: When you set the post privacy to Public, your posts can be seen by anyone on Facebook, and they can also be searched via Google. Any user (doesn’t matter if they use Facebook or not), will be able to view your posts.
Friends: When you set the visibility of your posts to Friends, they will only be seen by people who are on your Friends list. Nobody else will be able to see the posts except your friends.
Specific Friends: The Specific Friends option ensures that only those people will be able to see the post that you have selected. You will have to add names of all the people that you want to see the post.
Friends except…: This is the opposite of the previous option: you can add names of the people that you don’t want to see the post, and it won’t be visible to them. Everyone else on your friends list will be able to see it, however.
Custom: This option combines both the previous ones, allowing you to decide who you want to make the post visible to, and who you want to hide it from. This gives you complete control over the privacy of your posts.
Close Friends: Facebook allows you to create a custom list of your Close Friends. If you have built a list of Close Friends, you can just choose this option, and the post will only be seen by your Close Friends and no one else. It’s a pretty handy option if you want to share the post with just a select group of people.
Only Me: This one is pretty self-explanatory; only you will be able to see the post, and no one else.
How to Change a Post’s Privacy Option to “Public” on PC and Mobile
There is a pretty simple method that you can use to change the privacy of a Facebook post to Public, both on PC and mobile.
If you are using the browser version of Facebook, it’s actually quite easy to change the privacy settings of a post. There are two options available to you here.
First off, you can just log into your Facebook account, search for the post that you want to change the privacy settings for, and then look for the small privacy icon on the top left that allows you to change the settings quickly.
You can choose the “Public” option, and the post will be viewable by all.
Once you select the option, your post will be viewable by all others. There is also another option available to you here, and it’s just a little bit more confusing than the first one.
When you first locate your post, you will need to click on the three dots at the top right.
Then, click on the “edit post” option. Once the Edit Post dialog box opens up, you need to look at the Privacy option at the bottom. Once you do, you can select the Public option, and then click on Save.
It doesn’t matter if you use iOS or Android, there is a pretty simple way to change the privacy of a post. First, you need to scroll down to the post that you want to change the privacy for. Then, look for the three dots, also known as the ellipsis, at the top right, and tap on it.
You will see a bunch of options, including one that says, “edit privacy.” Tap on it, and you can then select the “public” option. It’s fairly simple, and since the Facebook app is virtually similar on both platforms, you won’t have much of a problem.
How to Make All Your Future Posts Public on PC and Mobile
If you want to make all of your posts public, you can do so quite easily, either on PC or mobile. Here’s how to do it.
First, log on to Facebook, then head to the Settings on the top right.
You will see the Privacy Settings option. You will see a bunch of Privacy options, just select the one where it says “Your Activity,” and where it says “who can see your future posts?” you should turn the Privacy setting to Public.
You can also change the setting when making a new post. You will see the Privacy option and visibility at the bottom of the dialog box, so you can just select the “Public” option from there. It will remain “public” unless you change it.
Once you log into your Facebook account, tap on the hamburger menu on the top right.
Then, select Settings. From there, go to Privacy Settings, where you will see a bunch of options.
Click on “Who can see your future posts?” under “Your Activity”.
Then click on “TRY IT NOW”.
Next, click on the post privacy button at the top.
And finally choose Public.
You can also write a custom post and see if it’s available to the public or not.
Related Read: How to Find Your Saved Drafts on Facebook
What Happens If Your Profile Is Locked?
If your profile is locked, your exposure to friends outside of Facebook will be limited, and your posts cannot be turned Public. You will have to turn off the Profile Lock feature if you want to make your posts visible to all.
To turn off Profile Lock, first go to Settings on the Facebook app in your mobile phone. Then, choose Profile Locking under the Privacy settings menu, and then tap on the Unlock button to remove the lock. You will notice that the lock icon showing beside your profile will vanish.
Once you have unlocked the Profile, you will have the option of changing the privacy of all your posts. You can use the instructions given in the above paragraphs to change the privacy settings of your profile.
These are just a few things that you should know about making posts shareable on Facebook. It’s pretty standard, and you don’t have to worry about running through a complex set of options to change your privacy settings.